Egg Blog

April 28 2023

My husband (basically) got the job!! I'm so proud of him!! ;w;
Now all we really need to worry about is some ongoing home repairs...

Honestly, our home has almost always needed repairs. We have water damage in our ceiling in both our bedroom and the laundry room, warped tile in the master bathroom and now: water damage caused by our very out of date air conditioner.

Ideally, we'd like to not spend as much money as possible when it comes to repairing this place, for obvious reasons. Another reason is that, we're hoping to (EVENTUALLY;;) move out of our current home and maybe to a new one in the neighborhood. I think we'd be able to sell this one, and maybe use some of that to put a down payment on a new one. For the record, our homes out here are quite affordable, and we currently live in a manufactured/modular home community (example below V V V)

So, it's not completely unrealistic, I think! Although, take that with a grain of salt, coming from me; a person with dyscalculia aka not a very great grasp of numerical comprehension... I mean, I'd like to assume things may work out, but paying for a mortgage might not be within our immediate horizon. (THAT much, I can comprehend;;)

Anyways! I'm hoping the AC repair won't try to push a new unit on us;; We really can't swing it for a whole new one, and as previously stated- we'd like to not put as much work into this home as possible, if we can avoid it.

It's really interesting... a few years ago, I never would've imagined I'd even have to think about home repair, upkeep and general homemaking. I'm just a very...immature person. It's very difficult for me to visualize or view myself as an actual ADULT now... it just keeps feeling like I recently graduated high school and I have no idea what I'm doing, haha;;

Then suddenly I look around and think "Ah, right. I'm in my 30s now...".

No one really prepares you for the kinds of random "adult" stuff you'll have to worry about when you get to this age- at least, *I* wasn't prepared, haha;;;
Sometimes I look up from the little things I do throughout the day and realize that over and over: "I'm really not a kid anymore...I can't just pretend that things will work out *magically* without doing some work of my own about it". I've never been very responsible, either. I can't quite tell if it's just from how I was raised, or my mental illnesses, or disabilities or just... I'm not sure

I try really hard not to use my disabilities as an excuse for poor adulthood comprehension, but it's also just not that simple to put into words either. There's still so much about the world, myself and others that I'm trying to understand- in my own way, paced the way I can keep up with. But even then, it's very difficult for me to just... BE AWARE. Of my surroundings, or my sense of self.

Ah, well. There's a lot going through my head, but writing out so far has been a bit cathardic. I know I won't be keeping this thing daily...most likely, but I'm going to try to use it when I have brain spillage that I just need to get out some way.

Please wish us luck with our smelly little house repairs as we figure things out as best as we can ;w;/

April 27 2023

Finally got this page set up sorta how I'd like it! I'm notoriously bad at keeping up with a blog/journal but I'm going to maybe attempt to try and use it more haha;;
For now, I might need to add warnings on this page because I might end up talking about more personal things such as my mental illness or how specific things affect me.
Hopefully it won't be too bad, though. I just thought it'd be nice to have a place to babble (a place that wasn't tumblr or smth).

Anyways- for todays babble...
Today my husband has an interview for a new job. I really hope he gets it, because his previous job was really kicking his ass. He'd work for 13+ hours a day, on day off every other week with mandatory overtime. I know they said they'd need him for that much when he started, but it just really started to weigh on him, mostly physically.

I didn't get to see him much during this time, obviously. I was really actually pretty lonely, haha... but I tried not to mention it much to him since there wasn't really anything he could do about it himself. That, and I didn't want to worry him.

I'm really bad at cooking and/or coming up with dinner ideas for homecooking, so with him gone, the cooking was up to me! I tried my best at it, and I think I did ok for the few things I was able to whip up during his hard working hours! In particular, I made some really tasty chicken noodle soup with chicken thigh meat :3

I could eat that kind of soup all the time... I was really proud of myself for it coming out so well, considering my lack of some most basic culinary skills.

Sometimes I'd throw together something simple, too though. I know I can "cook" really simple things, but I was never very kitchen savvy. I always WANTED to be, but things just didn't work out that way for me, growing up.

Either way, if he gets this new job offer, then he'll have OPTIONAL overtime, and have regular off days, so we won't have to miss eachother ;w;
That, and well it just seems like a better working opportunity in general, and I hope he gets it!